Link to the SIDS page
Building Bridges Contacts
CCCC Page

The Building Bridges Among Health & Early Childhood Systems project is a collaborative effort between the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) chapters and state early childhood systems. The project seeks to establish leadership in early brain and child development (EBCD) at the state level in order to develop and implement sustainable connections between medical home and early childhood initiatives. Leadership teams are composed of Chapter Child Care Contacts (CCCCs), or another chapter representative, and an additional senior level individual in each state representing early childhood and child care systems and/or home visiting.

The information in this section of the Web site is intended for the AAP Building Bridges partners and those who would like to collaborate with them within each of the participating states. We’ve consolidated these resources in one place to help guide your efforts to improve early brain and child developement within state early childhood systems.

*Click here to access Building Bridges Resources


STATE
Building Bridges Contacts

Mary Blankson, MD, MPH, FAAP*
Chapter Child Care Contact, Alabama
5840 Waterstone Point
Birmingham, AL 35244
Phone: (205) 424-3272
E-mail: maryLblankson@gmail.com

Dawn Ellis, MPH, RN
Assistant Director, Children's Health Division
Alabama Department of Public Health
P.O. Box 303017
Montgomery, AL 36130-3017
Phone: (334) 206-2965
E-mail: dawn.ellis@adph.state.al.us

Marc Lerner, MD, FAAP
Medical Officer, Orange County Department of Education
200 Kalmus Drive
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone: (714) 327-8186
E-mail: mlerner@ocde.us

Larraine Evans Clayton, MEd
Executive Director, Early Childhood Coordinating Council
450 W. State Street
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: (208) 334-5699
E-mail: claytonl@dhw.idaho.gov

Marealita Pierce, MD, FAAP*
Pediatrician, Pierce Pediatric Associates, S.C.
1525 E. 53rd Street, Suite 712
Chicago, IL 60615
Phone: (773) 643-2550
E-mail: drmpierce@yahoo.com

Rachel Sacks, MPH
Manager, Early Childhood Development Initiatives
Illinois Chapter, AAP
1400 W Hubbard, Suite 100
Chicago, IL 60642
Phone: (312) 733-1026 x218
E-mail: rsacks@illinoisaap.com

Mary Bergen, MS, LCSW
Assistant Director Consultation Programs
Illinois Action for Children
4753 N Broadway, Suite 1200
Chicago, IL 60640
Phone: (773) 564-8869
E-mail: Berngenm@actforchildren.org

Debra Waldron, MD, MPH, FAAP
President, Iowa Chapter AAP
100 Hawkins Drive, Room 247 CDD
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: (319) 467-5009
E-mail: debra-waldron@uiowa.edu

Tess Barker, PhD, JD, MA
Executive Director, Iowa Chapter AAP
100 Hawkins Drive, Room 247 CDD
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: (319) 594-4067
E-mail: tess-barker@uiowa

Ashley Lucas, MD, FAAP*
Pediatrician, Our Lady of the Lake
12525 Perkins Rd, Suite C
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
Phone: (225) 769-2003
E-mail: ashley@childlinkconsulting

Amy Zapata, MPH
Director, DHH/OPH/Bureau of Family Health
1450 Poydras Street, Room 2032
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: (504) 568-3504
E-mail: Amy.Zapata@la.gov

Steve Rhode, MEd, BS Education
Deputy Director, Child Care Resource & Referral
Maryland Family Network
1001 Eastern Ave., 3rd Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: (410) 659-7701 x240
E-mail: srohde@marylandfamilynetwork.org

Andrew Hashikawa, MD, MS, FAAP*
Chapter Child Care Contact, Michigan
24 Frank Lloyd Wright, Suite H-3200
Ann Arbor, MI 48130
Phone: (734) 936-9312

Laurel Wills, MD, FAAP*
Staff Physician, Sleep Medicine Service
Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare
200 University Ave., East
St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: (651) 578-5062
E-mail: laurel.wills@gillettechildrens.com

Diane Smith, RN, MS, LSN, CPNP
Child Care Health Consultant
Minnesota Department of Health
85 East 7th Place, Suite 220
P.O. Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882
Phone: (651) 201-3586
E-mail: diane.m.smith@state.mn.us

Tracy Stroud, DO, FAAP*
Associate Professor
University of Missouri-Columbia, Thompson Center
205 Portland
Columbia, MO 65212
Phone: (573) 884-6052
E-mail: stroudta@health.missouri.edu

Kathryn L. Fuger, PhD
Director of Early Childhood & Youth Programs
University of Missouri - Kansas City, Institute for Human Development
215 W. Pershing Road, 6th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone: (816) 235-5351
E-mail: fugerk@umkc.edu

Gina DiRenzo-Coffey, MD, FAAP
President, NE Chapter AAP
14080 Hospital Rd
Boys Town, NE 68010
Phone: (402) 778-6900
E-mail: gina.direnzo-coffey@boystown.org

Emily Leone, RN, C-PNP
Health Services Coordinator
Child Care Council Inc.
595 Blossom Rd, Suite 120
Rochester, NY 14610
Phone: (585) 654-4732
E-mail: e.leone@childcarecouncil.com

Please Contact:
Haley Southworth
Administrative Assistant, Ohio AAP
450 W. Wilson Bridge Rd, Suite 215
Worthington, OH 43085
Phone: (614) 846-6258
E-mail: hsouthworth@ohioaap.org
On behalf of Judith Romano, MD, FAAP
*

Edd D. Rhoades, MD, MPH, FAAP*
Medical Director, Community & Family Health
Oklahoma State Department of Health
1000 NE 10th Street
Phone: (405) 271-5183
E-mail: eddr@health.ok.gov

Beth DelConte, MD, FAAP*
Pediatric Advisor, PA AAP ECELS
18 Bayberry Dr
Broomall, PA 19008
Phone: (610) 325-3411
E-mail: peddrbeth@aol.com

Tracey Campanini
Director, Bureau of Early Learning, OCDEL
333 Market Street, 6th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17101
Phone: (717) 346-9324
E-mail: trcampanin@pa.gov

Rebecca Gossett, MPH
Training Coordinator, TN Chapter of the AAP
P.O. Box 159201
Nashville, TN 37215-9201
Phone: (615) 915-0164
E-mail: rebecca.gossett@tnaap.org

Renee Olesen, MD, FAAP*
Pediatrician, Intermountain Kearns Pediatrics
4946 W 6200 S
Kearns, UT 84118
E-mail: renee.olesen@imail.org

Colleen Kraft, MD, FAAP*
Professor of Pediatrics
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
1906 Belleview Ave SE
Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone: (540) 819-9019
E-mail: cakraft@carilionclinic.org

Bethany Geldmaker, PhD, PNP
Program Consultant, Virginia Department of Health
4122 Crestwood Road
Richmond, VA 23227
Phone: (804) 864-7687
E-mail: bethany.geldmaker@vdh.virginia.gov

Danette Glassy, MD, FAAP*
Pediatrician, Mercer Island Pediatrics
9675 SE 36th Street, Suite 100
Mercer Island, WA 98040
Phone: (206) 275-2122 x106
E-mail: dsg@mipediatrics.com

Kirsten Nackers, MD, FAAP
Assistant Professor, UW School of Medicine & Public Health
600 Highland Ave.
Madison, WI 53792
Phone: (608) 265-7000 x2681
E-mail: knackers@pediatrics.wisc.edu

*Denotes role as AAP Chapter Child Care Contact

 




©  COPYRIGHT AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PEDIATRICS, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
| Contact Us | Privacy Statement | About Us | Home
American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Blvd., Elk Grove Village, IL, 60007, 847-434-4000